[Reading] ➼ War Horse By Michael Morpurgo – Motyourdrive.co.uk


  • Hardcover
  • 165 pages
  • War Horse
  • Michael Morpurgo
  • English
  • 12 January 2018
  • 9780439796637

10 thoughts on “War Horse

  1. says:

    War Horse War Horse 1 , Michael Morpurgo War Horse is a children s novel by British author Michael Morpurgo It was first published in 1982 The story recounts the experiences of Joey, a horse purchased by the Army for service in World War I France and the attempts of young Albert, his previous owner, to bring him safely home It formed the basis of both an award winning play 2007 and an acclaimed film adaptation 2011 by Steven Spielberg 2013 1392 189 20 2015 189


  2. says:

    I can hate you , but I ll never love you less This book is so beautiful in many ways I wanted to weep all day after I finished War Horse is very unique because it s told by Joey, a horse being thrusted into the war on the Western Front The story is innocent, yet it s so sensational and full of angst from the characters I felt attached to the story from the first chapter and couldn t peel my eyes off then Morpugo created such a striking story about the war with a horse and a boy trying to find each other I could perceive about everything through this book and lost a lot of tears by reading only They fight a war and they don t know what for Isn t that crazy How can one man kill another and not really know the reason why he does it, except that the other man wears a different color uniform and speaks a different language I can read this book and watch the movie without getting bored And Tom Hiddleston always slay me with his acting skills.http goo.gl l0memd


  3. says:

    In the tradition of National Velvet and Black Beauty, War Horse is a moving tale of a horse and a time The horse is Joey The time is World War One After bonding with thirteen year old Albert at the family farm, Joey is sold to the Army by Albert s struggling dad And so the adventure and a series of encounters with a wide range of people begins An image from Spielberg s magnificent film from AOL They run the course from a loving teenage French girl to cruel Teutonic warriors, from kindly British officers to equally generous German soldiers Joey bonds with another horse in his tour of duty, as a sort of big brother Even without dialogue Morpurgo conveys their attachment This is a book clearly written for a YA reader, maybe even a Y without the A It is written simply and is easy to read Joey is presented as a remarkable steed, and is lavished with enough appreciation to make an adult gag at times, but keep the hankies handy as there is very moving heartbreak as well In addition, Morpurgo offers commentary on war and a look at the horrors entailed in that War To End All Wars War Horse is a fast, enjoyable, emotion rich read, even for an old oater like me I read this in anticipation of the film being released in December 2011 It was, IMHO, amazing, not only capturing the essence of the book, but doing so in a lush, classical format that was a pure joy to behold So it s sappy So what It is a great film that does justice to a great book And john Williams score for the film was spectacular as well.


  4. says:

    If somebody told me that book written in horse s POV would be this emotional, I wouldn t have believed it.From page one, I knew that this wasn t going to be happy and light read even in chapter 1 so much happened It dealt with war, and how unfair and stupid it is But it also dealt with so much than that It s a story about friendship, loyalty, love and survival And I felt like this book was so much longer than it actually was I guess that is because so much happened in it But surprisingly, even though it was short, not one part of this book felt rushed at least to me.Now off to see the movie Hopefully it ll stay faithful to the book.


  5. says:

    Small Books can often leave big impressions and this is the case with War Horse by Michael Morpurgo.Michael Murpurgo writes wonderful children s novels and I had loved some of his books very much and War Horse is one of those books that leaves a lasting impression.This is not a novel with a complicated plot or twists and turns but a beautiful story simply told and I find sometimes these can be the best Warhorse is a moving story about a horse called Joey and his experiences during service in the first world war Joey a farmhorse is sold to the army and witnesses battle from both side of the trenches This book is aimed at the 9 12 year old market but can be enjoyed by readers of any age and the author really knows how to tell a story and how to educate his reader while doing so I found the war scenes appropriate for the age group this book was aimed at and yet enough to make the reader feel the horrors of war.I loved the way Joey the horse seemed to give hope to the men on the battlefield and while war was all around them the horses gave the soldiers a sense of calm and hope.I bought this book for my ten year old and as the film War Horse is now showing in the cinema I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie and I really enjoyed this book One of my favourite books by Michael Murpurgo is Private Peaceful.


  6. says:

    War Horse is one of the best known children s novels by Michael Morpurgo And it is an enormously poignant little book.As the title suggests, it is the odyssey of a horse, Joey, brought from Devon across the English Channel and into France and the hell of the Great War, both through the English and the German trenches The story is narrated in simple language in, say, the tradition of Ernest Hemingway from the unusual perspective of the horse And this is done with an incredible sense of humanity and compassion, not just for Joey, but for all the men and women who lived, suffered and died during this long and most absurd butchery.Spielberg s adaptation to the screen is probably one of his best war movies, although we mostly lose the horse s point of view.


  7. says:

    I m clearly the only person in the world who doesn t like, doesn t get, this book.The horse is a Gary Stu See here if you don t know what one of those is he knows everything, from what guns and cannons are, to what wire is and what it can do, the terms for everythng in his world, including politics and the type of bit in his mouth.I m used to anthropomorphic animals, and have been since I was born but Joey should be dressed up in a waistcoat and walking on his hind legs because he has the human intelligence of one of the pigs from Animal Farm or Benjamin Bunny.When you compare this style of horse point of view with Black Beauty or something well done like Watership Down, you can see the failings In Watership Down, the rabbits didn t understand CONCEPTS such as a road they see a hard river that smells wrong and elil run up and down the road, not hunting the rabbits, but as deadly as anything else in their world Whilst they learn how to cope with the road, they never understand it But Joey understands everything, both ideas and concepts and that s just irritating.He knows English, despite having no horse communication at all then when he s abroad, he understands German and French someone has said that this aspect of it emphasises the anti war message, but I m afraid I just don t get that at all.A horse is a fight or flight animal its instinct is to run away and I m afraid that MM doesn t represent a horse at all in this book He s simply telling the story of a man in a horse s body, and really it would have been a better book if he d told it from the point of view of a man I understand that I m one lone voice in the wilderness here, though, so I doubt anyone will agree with me.


  8. says:

    I listened to this on audio and was listening to this while making my way to a gig at Wooster College in Ohio, where I was to draw caricatures Drawing caricatures for the public requires a certain amount of upbeat interaction, so it might not have been a good time to cry over Joey the War Horse I hope my Eyes weren t all puffy.Joey is a special horse Special enough to be purchased to serve in the first world war as a Calvary horse But the whole time he is in the war he longs for the day he can go home to his boy, Albert Joey was sold to the war effort against Albert s wishes by his father and Albert vows to join up when he s old enough and bring his horse back against all odds Joey s time was not easy in the war Quite frankly he went through hell He suffers many losses along the way, but he keeps going Will he find Albert Read it and find out.This is a wonderful little book.


  9. says:

    A book about war About fighting and surviving. A book about friendship and loyalty And about death and grief and moving on. Written from the POV of a horse, this book was absolutely breathtaking And honetsly, not only the book I cried when I read the book and I cried even harder when I watched the movie.It was one of the few books I read that was actually about WWI Since so many books are about the Second World War I was very intrigued about a book that pictured the First one The main part is of course Joey and how he survived during the war, how he helped and how human beings actually helped him He was such an observing and loyal and caring and loving character I am very sceptical about animal POV s but this one was remarkably beautiful I would choose Joey over nearly every other book protagonist But then there was also Joey s particular strong bound to some of them like first and foremost Albert Albert taught Joey things that saved his life than just once Besides, Albert promised to find him, he was his first and most important friend Then, there was the very gentle and wise Captain Nicholls who reminded me on an older version of Albert and Major Stewart with his horse Topthorn who soon became Joey s best friend during the war Every character who was mentioned in the book was in its own way important and showed a particular view on life and the war Every single character actually loved and appreciated the horses, everyone cared This book was short, but it was strong and it was beautiful I loved every sentence, every word and every character and plot twist I highly recommend the book to everyone and I also recommend the movie that turned out to be a little bit different than the book, but it was still breathtaking


  10. says:

    Such a touching hero s tale and such a daring point of view for its audience I am not an animal person to the chagrin of my family members and the beginning chapters of this book just ripped my heart out of my chest and stomped on it For Joey to be a survivor and still have such love in his soul is so moving.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

War Horsecharacters War Horse, audiobook War Horse, files book War Horse, today War Horse, War Horse de4c6 A Powerful Tale Of War, Redemption And A Hero S JourneyIn , Joey, A Beautiful Bay Red Foal With A Distinctive Cross On His Nose, Is Sold To The Army And Thrust Into The Midst Of The War On The Western Front With His Officer, He Charges Toward The Enemy, Witnessing The Horror Of The Battles In France But Even In The Desolation Of The Trenches, Joey S Courage Touches The Soldiers Around Him And He Is Able To Find Warmth And Hope But His Heart Aches For Albert, The Farmer S Son He Left Behind Will He Ever See His True Master Again


About the Author: Michael Morpurgo

Sir Michael Andrew Morpurgo, OBE, FRSL is the author of many books for children, five of which have been made into films He also writes his own screenplays and libretti for opera Born in St Albans, Hertfordshire, in 1943, he was evacuated to Cumberland during the last years of the Second World War, then returned to London, moving later to Essex After a brief and unsuccessful spell in the army,